Are Cranberries Vegan?

A bowl of raw, fresh cranberries without any animal products in it.

Vegan Cranberries

It depends if it’s raw, dried, or mixed in with other ingredients.

Vegan and Non-Vegan Cranberry Eats

A vegan is a person who does not consume, use or eat any animal products. So we will use this definition to evaluate all the different ways we can eat cranberries.

RAW – Raw cranberries are very healthy, and contain lots of vitamin C and manganese. Most people do not eat them in this form because when they are raw they are very sour, and even a little bitter. But if you do choose to eat them raw then by our definition you are eating a vegan food.

JUICE – This one is tricky. One of the biggest producers of cranberry juice in the country said that they don’t use any animal products in the juice itself, but they do use a cow gelatin to filter out the juice and make it more clear. None of the gelatin remains in the final product and using gelatin doesn’t contribute to the killing of animals. So in this case it all depends on your definition of veganism and how you like to practice it.

DRIED CRANBERRIES – As a general rule all dried fruit is considered vegan. There are non-vegan types of dried fruit that have other ingredients added to them like chocolate, yogurt, nut mixes and granolas. But if we’re talking about pure, dried fruit that has some added sugar then yes it’s generally vegan.

That being said you always have to check your labels and ask shopkeepers and product manufacturers about what’s been added to the pure, plant food that you want to eat.

Hope this helps.

– Cranby

Dried Cranberry Powder

Leave a Reply