Cranberries are Gluten Free

Fresh cranberries that are in a bowl and all-natural

Cranberries are Gluten Free

This berry contains no gluten.

Raw vs Dried

Fresh cranberries contain no gluten unless they’ve come across gluten while being processed and handled which is rare.

Gluten is found in wheat, rye and barley and is basically a protein found in these grains, that help keep their shape or structure, like a glue or support material used to ‘build’ the grain.

Fresh cranberries are not any of these grains and so do not contain any gluten.

Dried cranberries in general do NOT contain gluten either. Here are the ingredients to Ocean Spray’s Dried Cranberries:

Dried Cranberry Ingredients

You can see that it’s simply cranberries, sugar and oil used for processing. Some variations of dried cranberries or craisins have other ingredients like juice concentrates and natural flavors etc. Still, that’s considered gluten free.

But you’ll have to read the ingredients if you buy a package of the dried berries at your local grocery store. Some have a ‘may contain gluten’ warning on them which usually means it’s possible the product came into contact with gluten.

Quick Answer

No they don’t. Cranberries don’t contain any gluten.

Some cranberry products like sauces or other processed foods may but in general fresh or dried cranberries do not.

They are gluten free,

Hope this helps.

– Cranby

Dried Cranberry Powder

Leave a Reply